A Year Without A Fair

Since 1841, the Erie County Fair has only been cancelled once. It occurred in 1943 when rationing of gasoline and other commodity during WWII made a postponement necessary. This image is from “the year with no fair” and features two buildings that can still be found of the Fairgrounds, although they have been moved, altered and restored. Originally located trackside, the Educational Building was moved to Slade Park and is now known as the Mount Vernon Building featuring the woodcarvers. Agricultural Hall was also moved near Slade Park to become the permanent home of the Fair’s History Department. During the 175th Fair, the original section(front) of the Historical Building will be renovated to showcase its 1800s construction.

 

throwback